S54 engine sound recording with video

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

S54 engine sound recording with video

So, I have been on a journey to get some upgrades done on the car, especially a CSL airbox from Karbonius and other bits and pieces.

I wanted to do before and after comparisons of the engine sound, so started doing some research in online forums and r/LocationSound on Reddit.

This is my first attempt at recording engine and exhaust sounds, so definitely lots to learn.

S54 engine sound on SoundCloud

Would love to hear your feedback and comments on the overall audio quality and how good/bad this engine sounds. There is one thing I noticed where the SM57 provides for a very bassy / roomy sound that can easily overpower the overall recording. This clip is from a half an hour driving session where I played around with levels of all the 3 mics. This one sounded the better of all the various settings.

If anyone is interested, I can post the full session's recording as well. I have to say, I don't remember which mic was set to what level during the session, but it might be interesting to hear them nonetheless.

The recording setup included the following:
    1. 2x Shure SM11 lavalier mics
    2. 1x Shure SM57 mic
    3. 1x Zoom F6 recorder

One of the Shure SM11s is mounted on the oil dipstick and secured to the surrounding area with gaffer's tape. It points to the air box.

Click image for larger version  Name:	IMG_0513.jpg Views:	0 Size:	152.6 KB ID:	161429
    Click image for larger version  Name:	IMG_0514.jpg Views:	0 Size:	177.1 KB ID:	161430

The SM57 points to the engine itself.

Click image for larger version  Name:	IMG_0512.jpg Views:	0 Size:	193.0 KB ID:	161431

Cables go around the perimeter of the engine bay area and under the wipers. They are all secured in place using 3M masking tape and/or gaffer's tape, depending on the surface.

Click image for larger version  Name:	IMG_0516.jpg Views:	0 Size:	176.7 KB ID:	161432