Bean’s 05 SMG A08 Build Journal

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Bean’s 05 SMG A08 Build Journal

Holy smokes, this is a long time in the making. I purchased the 05 at the end of April 2020, right before we where all locked inside from the Covid epidemic.

I had been entertaining the idea of getting an e46 M3 for a couple of years, watching values go from the low 10Ks for okay cars, up to 20K for fairly decent cars. By the time I pulled the trigger I bet there had already been a 15% increase in value’s, and that trend seems to be continuing, as I am seeing 100K plus cars advertised for 20K.

He was my big learning lesson as I started shopping seriously, you are not just buying the car, but all of the previous ownership as well. Once I figured that out, I was able to recalibrate my expectations. I am not in the EAG buying ability, although I did reach out to them hoping for some high mileage rejects . . . No luck.

I bid on a couple of cars on BAT, with one I was even sure I won the bid, but I was on my phone, and lag time updates screwed me on TIAG, 06 ( forgetting now ), SMG, ZCP, 65K that went for 26K . . . the facts are a little fuzzy now.

I of course had been watching Craigslist, along with all of the auto trader type apps.

My preferred spec was later model 04, 04, 06, Manual Trans, Phoenix Yellow, Next Exotic color like Violet, ZCP, or at least CSL wheels, black interior.

Sorry, long winded already.