Brass Brake Caliper Guide Pins

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Brass Brake Caliper Guide Pins

I Installed brass caliper guide pins last track day.

Another Track day coming up in two weeks. Got a call from the shop doing tech inspection today: One of the caliper slide pins fell out, three others were hand loose.

Our current solution is blue loctite.

When I installed them made sure no grease was on the threads. So not sure how else I could have fsck’d up the install.

Needless to say I was damn lucky. And my lesson learned is I need to inspect brakes much more closely than I have been.

I've been using them for ~14 years and have never once had an issue - and I pull calipers at least 4 times/year. Are you torquing them to spec?

I don't see Loctite as a solution to a problem you don't understand. Better to understand the cause, otherwise you are just guessing and using a bigger hammer.

Comment

Originally posted by Estoril View Post
      I've been using them for ~14 years and have never once had an issue - and I pull calipers at least 4 times/year. Are you torquing them to spec?

I don't see Loctite as a solution to a problem you don't understand. Better to understand the cause, otherwise you are just guessing and using a bigger hammer.
      Yup torque’d to spec. I’ve done dozens of brake jobs on stock guide pins and no issues with 30+ track days with no issues.

Comment

Originally posted by eacmen View Post

Yup torque’d to spec. I’ve done dozens of brake jobs on stock guide pins and no issues with 30+ track days with no issues.
        You might pull one (of the loose ones) and compare it to the former stock ones. Make sure you are working with the proper size. I'd also take a close look at the threads. You might magic marker or dye the threads, dry, then install and torque. Then remove and see what contact is happening across the threads.