Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Opened engine to find my worst nightmare... advice needed.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Opened engine to find my worst nightmare... advice needed.

Well guys here I am. The first truly f*cked engine on the new forum.

Earlier tonight I got my s54 head off to replace the head gasket... only to see a horrible sight. Im not sure how the hell this even happened but if I had to guess i'd say that a decent chunk of head gasket broke off and fell into the cylinder. Incredibly, the car ran like this but barely. The point of this post is to get some opinions on what the most logical decision here is. I am a college student so cost is unfortunately one of the biggest deciding factors.

At this point I think I would need a new set of pistons, and to rehone/ machine the cylinder. If thats even a thing. Believe it or not from the photos the scoring isn't super deep and my fingernail *barely* catches on it. My biggest concern is that there is a slight "chip" in the cylinder wall. I think this will be the thing that makes my engine toast. I have circled the chip in the photo. Also it looks like there is peppering all over the cylinder but in reality it's just a reflection.

There is corresponding damage on my head. Unbelievably, the valves came out without a scratch and it seems like they are all good. However, I dont know what im talking about to be honest and im just trying to go off of what little I know. I guess I just need to see if I can repair all damage on the head by only resurfacing less than .25mm right?

So heres my questions:

1) What in the hell do you think caused this damage?

2) Will re-honing my cylinder repair that "chip?" ( I think he answer is no but im not sure)

3) If I slightly bore out the cylinder to solve the chip damage will stock pistons + piston rings fit properly? (I guess it depends on how much I need bored out?)