N55 powerband with s54 top end

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

N55 powerband with s54 top end

Something I've always wondered, why is it that BMW is able to achieve peak torque at sub 2k rpm for n55, n20 etc motors, but all aftermarket solutions for n/a motors always spool way later? Every "stage 1" kit I've seen, even if it's with really conservative power figure, spools at 4k rpm. With more displacement than an n55, shouldn't we be able to make an s54 that makes something like 300lb/ft at 2k rpm, and if we limit power to 400hp hopefully preserve the top end? Is the issue simply that any turbo that spools at 2k wouldn't be able to make power at 8k?

im no expert in this, but I can speak from experience with my N54 and N55. The low end torque was incredible, but the turbos "gassed out" right around the 6000 RPM mark. I think the reasoning behind it was they were too small of turbos to push out through the entire RPM band. Again this is completely anecdotal, and it's been a few years since owning either of those engines
    ‘02 LSB M3 (11k original miles)
    ’03 Oxford Green M3 (Turbo’d)

Comment

An engine generates peak torque at 1 operating speed in which the airflow dynamics are optimized. broadening the torque curve above and below that requires some black magic. Ever since BMW started making the M50NV, most of the technological advancements were not to improve peak horsepower, but to broaden the torque curve.

For example, lets look at 2.5L engines.

M50B25 (Non-VANOS) 181 lb-ft @ 4700 rpm
      M50B25TU (single VANOS) 184 lb-ft @ 4200 rpm single VANOS helps broaden peak torque curve by 500 rpm
      M54B25 (dual VANOS w/ DISA) 181 lb-ft @ 3500 rpm dual VANOS and DISA further broaden torque curve 700 rpm
      N52B25 (valvetronic) 184 lb-ft @ 2750 rpm Valvetronic helps broaden the torque curve by 750 rpm as well as at higher rpm for ~20 more HP than previous BMW 2.5 engines

with the N54/N55, the turbos broaden the torque curve substantially