Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

what kind of power supply do you use duiring flashing?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

what kind of power supply do you use duiring flashing?

Hi i'm pretty new to tuning. Read some thing about we need to Maintenace votage and current of 10 A during flashing. Otherwise, may get a bricked dme. What kind of power supply/charger do you guys normally use? How about this two? thanks!
    Amazon.com: 12-Amp Smart Battery Charger,Lithium,Lead-Acid(AGM/Gel/SLA) Pulse Repair Car Battery Charger,Trickle Charger,Maintainer/Deep Cycle Charger,12V/10A | 24V/7.5A for Automotive,Boat,Motorcycle,Lawn Mower : Automotive

Amazon.com: CTEK (56-353) MULTI US 7002 12-Volt Battery Charger,Black : Automotive

I didn't know 10amp was suggested. I thought even a trickle charger at lower, "maintenance" amperage like 4amp was sufficient. What's the likelihood of a batteyr to go bad if it's on a trickle charger?

Perhaps you want a switchable charger that does maintence (lower amp) for when the car sits AND higher amp (10a) for flashing and recharging a low battery?

Interested to see more responses, good question!
    DD: /// 2011.5 Jerez/bamboo E90 M3 · DCT · Slicktop · Instagram
    /// 2004 Silvergrey M3 · Coupe · 6spd · Slicktop · zero options
    More info: https://nam3forum.com/forums/forum/m...os-supersprint

Comment

Thanks, I just read it here and other websites mentioned 10A.

DIY: Flashing your SMG module with CSL Software + CSL Rev Matching and Torque Maps - NA M3 Forums
      "​
      - An E46 M3 equipped with the SMG2 Transmission
      - BMW Standard Tools 2.5.0 or later (Should come with WinKFP 5.1.6 or newer)
      - Access to E46 data files (I recommend Ista/P V37 or later)
      - Some sort power supply that can stably supply 13-14V at 10A