X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

M-Track Mode

Retrofitting M-track Mode on MK60-equipped E46 M3s
    Attached Files

Noob here...who's building an E46 M3 track car currently: can someone share what "M-track Mode" is/does?

Comment

It raises the threshold at which DSC kicks in
      2003.5 ///M3 - Laguna Seca Blue - Black - SMG Delete

Comment

Originally posted by sina View Post
        It raises the threshold at which DSC kicks in
        Got it, thank you. Any downsides or things to be aware of as a result of this (other than the obvious intended result)?

Comment

Originally posted by jareds941 View Post

Got it, thank you. Any downsides or things to be aware of as a result of this (other than the obvious intended result)?
          Haven't done it myself, so I can't speak to this from experience, but I haven't heard of any downsides. I think it's pretty common for people with MK60 to do it.
          2003.5 ///M3 - Laguna Seca Blue - Black - SMG Delete

Comment

I had this on my E60 M5, and was very happy when I got my 2006 E46 M3 to be able to code it in. Where the normal DSC does a lot of throttle management, kicking you off the gas too much, M-track mode puts more of the intervention into the brakes to clamp down on wheel spin (explains why my M5 rear brakes went 50% faster than my front brakes). It also allows for a little more slip angle before intervening in turns, and I've even done quick u-turns where I could keep a bit of wheel spin and a slight drift slide going in M-track mode that full DSC on would have shut down long before.

Comment

I coded M-Track mode on my 2005. It is my preferred daily driving mode. It hardly intervenes unless I am hard on the throttle from a right hand turn and offers a little bit of a safety net because while i am confident in my own abilities, I am not stubborn.
              It seems to allow about 10 feet worth of wheelspin where DSC ON just says "NO" to the slightest amount and harshes your mellow.

Comment