Black & Tan 332iT

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Black & Tan 332iT

I've been putting off starting this thread for a long time, and each time I work on the car I wish I had a place to drop updates. I'll start off here and fill in the details as I go along.

Background: I grew up working at my father's indy BMW/Mini shop, owned many BMWs, several Porsches and one 50 year old jag that's now electric. I'm an engineer, a couple different types by degree and trade and can't seem to leave my cars alone.

I was previously driving a '21 Taycan cross turismo 4s, which is a fantastic car, but it just didn't have the spirit of something fun and playful like some of the older cars with lower limits. I'd toyed with the idea of building an s54 e46 touring for years, and finally decided to plunge in. I called an old friend (Kaiv on the forums) who has gotten pretty good at these and asked about whether he knew of a clean black chassis wagon for sale. *Fun fact, I used to program some of Kaiv's s54 swaps some ten plus years ago, when I owned an e46 M3* Kevin did me one better and hooked me up with one of his already swapped and BAR'd cars from years past! It needed a lot of work but the engine and driveline were all in great running condition, and it saved me a lot of effort.

I picked it up in May this year as a black/grey swapped touring, lowered on soft springs (mostly bump stops) and it needed a significant amount of work to make it proper. Many invested hours later, it's now black/natural brown and has been completely gone through and drives about as close to a new e46 as any I've driven since I worked on them when they were new. It's my DD, so it must be smooth and quiet.

Some details:
    2002 Sapphire black/natural brown/black cube 332iT
    206k miles (time of post)
    s54 engine with ~160k miles - vanos, bearings, cooling system, hoses, etc all replaced
    M3 driveline, MK60, subframe, diff, suspension
    ZCP+996 brakes (fit under 17s)